

Competition Rules and Instructions 2025 EDITION

Introduction

Each year, the Great Lakes ITE (GLITE) District conducts its Collegiate Traffic Bowl to select the student chapter team representative to the ITE Collegiate Traffic Bowl Grand Championship, which takes place at the Annual Meeting of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE). Each district in the Institute conducts a similar event to select its representative to the Grand Championship. The ITE Collegiate Traffic Bowl is a competition between ITE student member teams. The following are rules and instructions set forth for the competitions held at the ITE International Annual Meeting and in the Great Lakes District.

The rules of the competition for the Great Lakes District will be the same as those for the ITE Grand Championship, which are attached. Exceptions or additions are noted below.

The 2025 Great Lakes District Collegiate Traffic Bowl will be conducted at the Great Lakes District Annual Meeting in Indianapolis, IN on June 9, 2025.

Student Teams

Students must meet the eligibility requirements as described in the ITE Collegiate Traffic Bowl Program rules (see attached).

The Great Lakes District's Traffic Bowl is open to all schools in the District. A school may not have more than one team. Teams may be comprised of students from more than one school if needed, but a team that wins at one level must retain the same roster of students for each successive level to which the team might advance. Replacements to the original team roster may be made due to unforeseen medical reasons with an accompanying justification from a medical doctor.

To express your chapter's interest in participating, send the registration form to Jordan Hankin (<u>jhankin@hrcengr.com</u>), Phil Kulis (<u>PKulis@srfconsulting.com</u>), and Jeff Young (<u>jeffrey.young@hdrinc.com</u>) by **Friday, April 18, 2025**.

By no later than Friday, April 18, 2024, the initial list of names for team members must be sent to the competition committee. Please check to see that all students are International ITE Student Members. If an individual's name does not appear on the current membership directory on the ITE website (www.ite.org), they may not be an active member and may not be eligible to participate in the Traffic Bowl.

Awards and Travel Support

Each team and individual competing will receive a certificate of recognition for participating in the event. The winning student chapter will receive a plaque from the Great Lakes District and their name on the District's Traffic Bowl trophy. The winning Student Chapter's name also will be placed on a pennant that will be displayed during all future district traffic bowl events.

The winning team will be eligible to compete in the 2025 ITE Collegiate Traffic Bowl Grand Championship to be held in Orlando, FL at the International ITE Annual Meeting from August 10-13. The team will be given \$1,500 (US) towards their travel to the Annual Meeting by the GLITE District.

The balance of expenses related to the team's travel to and from the Annual Meeting as well as any expenses at the meeting will be the responsibility of the chapter and team members.

Other Rules

Prior to the district competition, any interpretation or clarification of the contest rules shall be submitted to the Great Lakes District Traffic Bowl Committee for their consideration. The GLITE District's Traffic Bowl Committee decision shall be final and shall stand without recourse.

During the competition, any challenges to the rules shall be the responsibility of the Judges to rule and make a final decision. Their decision shall be final and shall stand without recourse.

Again, if you have any questions, please let us know. You can direct your inquiries to Jordan Hankin (<u>ihankin@hrcengr.com</u>), Phil Kulis (<u>PKulis@srfconsulting.com</u>), and Jeff Young (<u>jeffrey.young@hdrinc.com</u>).

ATTACHMENTS

• Team Entry Form



2025 Great Lakes ITE Traffic Bowl Entry Form

University:
Student Chapter Advisor Name:
E-mail: Phone:
Team Members:
Team Members E-mail Birth Date
1
2
3
Alternate(s):
Please send in the names of the members of your team to the competition committee by no later than April 18, 2025. Your lists on the entry form should be sent to Jordan Hankin (<u>jhankin@hrcengr.com</u>), Phil Kulis (<u>PKulis@srfconsulting.com</u>), and Jeff Young (jeffrey.young@hdrinc.com).